Offensive Line Named To Joe Moore Award Midseason Honor Roll

Author: Amy Marquez

NEW YORK - The University of Notre Dame's offensive line unit has been named to the midseason honor roll for the Joe Moore Award, which identifies notable performances by offensive line units in games played through October 7.

The Irish offensive line has been instrumental in the team's 5-1 start. Notre Dame ranks second in the Football Bowl Subdivision in rush yards/carry (6.90), third in rushing TDs (23), third in rush yards (1,848) and sixth in rush yards/game (308.0). The Irish have rushed for at least 300 yards on four occasions, at least 400 yards twice and over 500 yards once.

The group, led by graduate captain and left tackle Mike McGlinchey and senior captain and left guard Quenton Nelson, has paved the way for junior Josh Adams. The running back ranks second in the FBS in rush yards/carry (9.02), sixth in rush yards (776) and ninth in rush yards/game (129.3). Adams has recorded four 100-yard rushing games this season, and all four were accomplished before halftime.

The Joe Moore Award Mid-Season Honor Roll includes units that display a high level of toughness, effort, teamwork, consistency, technique and “finishing”. The voting subcommittee uses game film and coach submitted cut-ups on The DragonFly Division I Network as the primary OL Unit evaluation tool. Advanced OL data and statistics are provided by STATS LLC, which helps to support the film evaluation process by highlighting key situations and moments over the course of the season.

“The O-line position is much more technical than some realize. So when we watch the film, we’re looking to see which units not only use good technique, but also for those that display a willingness to compete, finish, and set the tone for their offense,” said Cole Cubelic, who is the current Chairman of the Joe Moore Award Voting Subcommittee, a sideline analyst for the SEC Network and played offensive line for Auburn 1996-2001. “Its early in the season, and it takes a while for units to get going, so we are especially working to identify groups that can do this consistently every game.” 

“There’s a good chance there’s not a single OL coach in the country that’s happy with how their Unit is playing. That’s just their nature. But the teams on the Mid-Season Honor Roll caught the attention of the Subcommittee for good reason,” said Aaron Taylor, CBS CFB Analyst and Team Captain of the Joe Moore Award. “As in years past, this award won’t be earned until November, the time when college football matters most. As the season progresses, the bar will be raised along with the stakes, and all of these units have a lot of work to do in order to earn this year’s title of Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit in college football.”

About the Joe Moore Award

The Joe Moore Award is named after Joe Moore, widely regarded as one of the best offensive line coaches in college football history, and is the only major college football award to honor a unit. The award annually recognizes the nation’s Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit that best displays toughness, effort, teamwork, consistency, technique, and finishing. The voting committee is comprised solely of people who played or coached the position, including all of the current offensive line coaches at the Division I/FBS level as well as former players, coaches, colleagues of Coach Moore and select media. The Joe Moore Award has been earned by Alabama in 2015 and Iowa in 2016.

About The Foundation for Teamwork

The Foundation for Teamwork is a 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to fostering the essential aspect of all great societal endeavors: teamwork. Our mission is to bring that spirit of collective achievement not only to sports, but also to schools, organizations, businesses and communities. Find out more at Also follow the Joe Moore Award on Instagram (@joemooreaward), Twitter (@joemooreaward) and Facebook at

-- ND --

Stay Up To Date