Offensive Line Named Joe Moore Award Finalists

Author: Ami Driscoll

Offensive Line Named Joe Moore Award Finalists

Nov. 29, 2017

NEW YORK - The University of Notre Dame's offensive line unit has been named finalists for the 2017 Joe Moore Award, which identifies the most outstanding offensive line unit in college football.

The Irish offensive line has been instrumental in the team's 9-3 record and No. 15 College Football Playoff ranking. Notre Dame ranks third in the Football Bowl Subdivision in rushing yards/carry (6.37), seventh in rushing yards (3,349), seventh in rushing offense (279.1) and 13th in rushing TDs (34). The Irish have rushed for at least 300 yards on seven occasions, at least 400 yards twice and over 500 yards once.

Notre Dame leads the nation in rushing yards (877) and ranks second in rushing TDs () in games against AP top-25 opponents. The Irish also leads the nation in rushing yards (2,253) and rushing TDs (23) in games against FBS teams with a winning record. In fact, the Irish are the only FBS team with at least 2,000 rush yards and at least 20 rushing TDs this season against FBS teams with a winning record.

Notre Dame is the only unit in the country to average over 250.0 rush yards/game with at least seven games against FBS teams with a winning record (and Notre Dame's played nine). The Irish average 250.3 rush yards/game and 5.84 yards/rush in its nine games against FBS teams with a winning record.

Notre Dame ranks in the top three nationally in runs of at least 20 yards (3rd, 39), 30 yards (2nd, 26), 40 yards (2nd, 15), 50 yards (3rd, 11), 60 yards (t-1st, nine) and 70 yards (2nd, four).

The group, led by graduate captain and left tackle Mike McGlinchey and senior captain and left guard Quenton Nelson, has paved the way for junior Josh Adams. The running back ranks seventh in the FBS in rush yards/carry (7.26), 12th in rush yards (1,386) and 16th in rush yards/game (115.5). Adams ranks in the top three nationally in runs of at least 30 yards (3rd, 13), 40 yards (4th, eight), 50 yards (t-2nd, eight), 60 yards (1st, seven) and 70 yards (2nd, four). 

The Joe Moore Award Mid-Season Honor Roll includes units that display a high level of toughness, effort, teamwork, consistency, technique and "finishing". The voting subcommittee uses game film and coach submitted cut-ups on The DragonFly Division I Network as the primary OL Unit evaluation tool. Advanced OL data and statistics are provided by STATS LLC, which helps to support the film evaluation process by highlighting key situations and moments over the course of the season.McGlinchey and Nelson were the first set of teammates from the same position group to be named semifinalists for the Outland.

About the Joe Moore Award

The Joe Moore Award is named after Joe Moore, widely regarded as one of the best offensive line coaches in college football history, and is the only major college football award to honor a unit. The award annually recognizes the nation's Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit that best displays toughness, effort, teamwork, consistency, technique, and finishing. The voting committee is comprised solely of people who played or coached the position, including all of the current offensive line coaches at the Division I/FBS level as well as former players, coaches, colleagues of Coach Moore and select media. The Joe Moore Award has been earned by Alabama in 2015 and Iowa in 2016. About The Foundation for Teamwork

The Foundation for Teamwork is a 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to fostering the essential aspect of all great societal endeavors: teamwork. Our mission is to bring that spirit of collective achievement not only to sports, but also to schools, organizations, businesses and communities. Find out more at Also follow the Joe Moore Award on Instagram (@joemooreaward), Twitter (@joemooreaward) and Facebook at

Courtesy of

Stay Up To Date