University of Notre Dame

Game Day

Shamrock Series History

Shamrock Series

The Shamrock Series is Notre Dame’s home-away-from-home game series! In 2009, the first game of the was played in San Antonio. The series traveled to New York (2010), Washington, D.C. (2011), Chicago (2012), Texas (2013), Indianapolis (2014), Boston (2015), and in 2016 we are heading back to San Antonio.

The Shamrock Series presents fans with an entire weekend of festivities on the road, though seeks to provide our home Game Day experience!  Fans have the opportunity to explore a new city and cheer for the Fighting Irish while attending Shamrock Series activities that may include a pep rally or band concert at an iconic location, Mass, service projects, a pre-game concert, academic and spiritual events, run a 5K, join others at Fan Fest, and so much more. Since the first Shamrock Series, we have seen Irish fans come out in full force in each city to take part in the Shamrock Series weekend events. The series offers fans the opportunity to experience Notre Dame Football in an incredibly unique and unforgettable way.

In addition to the events surrounding the Shamrock Series game, the venues in which these games are played provide fans an experience at iconic stadiums, including football and baseball venues. The Irish have competed in the Alamodome (Alamo Bowl), Yankee Stadium (New York Yankees), FedEx Field (Washington Redskins), Soldier Field (Chicago Bears), AT&T Stadium (Dallas Cowboys), Lucas Oil Stadium (Indianapolis Colts), and Fenway Park (Boston Red Sox)!

Shamrock Series

Game Date Opposing Team Venue Location Score Winner
10-31-2009 Washington State Alamodome San Antonio, Texas  40-14 ND
11-20-2010 Army Yankee Stadium Bronx, New York 27-3 ND
11-21-2011 Maryland FedEx Field Landover, Maryland 45-21 ND
10-6-2012 Miami (FL) Soldier Field Chicago, Illinois 41-3 ND
10-5-2013 Arizona State AT&T Stadium Arlington, Texas 37-34 ND
9-13-2014 Purdue Lucas Oil Stadium Indianapolis, Indiana 30-14 ND
11-21-2015 Boston College Fenway Park Boston, Massachusetts 19-16 ND

Stay tuned for Shamrock Series 2016 information, as the Irish return to San Antonio, Texas in the Alamodome on November 12, 2016 vs Army at 2:30 p.m. CT (3:30 p.m. ET)!